The Wild Donkey Cafe

There are cute donkeys all over this café.
There are cute donkeys all over this café.

1131 Broad Street
San Luis Obispo, CA 93401
805-788-0898
Website

So. Greek and Mexican food. Together. On one plate. It sounds like it could easily be either the recipe for painful stomach cramps or a match made in heaven. The Wild Donkey Café definitely encompasses the heavenly side of things.
Also, before we get into the thick of things, I just wanted you to know that I didn’t have my camera with me because I was out Christmas shopping with my mom, so these photos were taken on my phone. I know, not up to par with my impeccable standards, but I trust we can all carry on.
The restaurant is so cute! This is not a word I often use to describe restaurants, but how else can I describe the dozens of adorable canvas paintings of donkeys? The atmosphere is colorful and lively, a mixture of earthy brick and bright blue walls. I snapped a picture, which turned out pretty blurry because I was afraid the people at the other end of the restaurant would think I was stalking them.

10863762_905615132790126_449601572_n
I really could have picked another wall of the restaurant, since these were the only other people in there. Meh.
House-made Hummus and Pita
Grilled soft honey pita bread with house-made Hummus.

Since you are obligated to try the pita and hummus at any Greek establishment (or at least I feel that way) we ordered it as our appetizer, and I couldn’t be happier. The pita was soft and they gave it a nice toasty crispiness by grilling it. The hummus was full of flavor and you could definitely tell it was made fresh. The only thing I have a problem with is that there is not enough hummus for the amount of pita they give you. That could be considered a complaint, but it didn’t stop me from eating the rest of the pita. The pita didn’t need no dip. It was that good.
I ordered the Moussaka, which is a traditional Greek dish that typically consists of layers of meat and eggplant, and is topped with a Béchamel sauce. It’s basically Greek lasagna, in laymen’s terms. I didn’t see where the Mexican fusion tied into this dish, but I didn’t care. I’ve had the Moussaka here before and I can’t not order it. Wild Donkey uses lamb in their Moussaka, which is pretty typical, but the lamb is perfectly spiced and tender and juicy, with subtly sweet notes of cinnamon and cloves.

It's so good I didn't realize I had bread on my plate until I looked at the picture when I got home, which really means something.
It’s so good I didn’t realize I had bread on my plate until I looked at the picture when I got home, which really means something.
Gyro Quesadilla. I'm still drooling.
Gyro Quesadilla. I’m still drooling.

My mother ordered the Gyro Quesadilla, which was a new menu item that I’ve never tried, and I think it’s safe to say that it gives my beloved Moussaka a run for its money. (Sidenote: This post should really be called “How many times can I mention the word ‘Moussaka’ in one post”)
If I could eat this dish every day I would. Tender, perfectly seasoned slow-roasted lamb, jack and feta cheese, sautéed spinach, tomatoes, and onions, all melty and gooey in a crispy tortilla. And I’m probably still missing ingredients. There was a lot of deliciousness stuffed into this quesadilla.
There are many great restaurants in downtown SLO, but this is my favorite when I’m craving something different. We paid $6.50 for the pita, about $13 for the quesadilla and around $18 for the Moussaka. There are plenty of entrees in the $10-11 range, and for the amount of food you’re getting it’s pretty reasonable! And if you’re worried you won’t like Greek/Mexican fusion, don’t be lame! Try something new! You (almost) definitely won’t regret it!

One thought on “The Wild Donkey Cafe

Tell me what you think!

