Rooney’s Irish Pub

The Reuben
The Reuben

241 South Broadway Street
Orcutt, CA 93455
805-934-3777
Website

Nothing like some traditional Irish pub food! Luckily, Rooney’s Irish Pub is only 15 minutes from where we live in Santa Maria and it’s one of the most authentic Irish Gastropubs in the Central Coast. I just love the motto from their website: “There are no strangers, only friends we have never met.” Such a fitting motto, as this place is warm, welcoming, and full of smiling strangers! I didn’t get a good picture of the interior because it was pretty dark inside, but it maintained a homey feel with dark hardwood and candlelight while still being a sports bar. The TVs playing sports actually weren’t distracting. I usually hate when there are TVs in restaurants. The last thing I want to do on a night out is watch TV! I can do that at home! Rant over.
They start you out by bringing you freshly made potato chips that beat the heck out of any Lay’s I’ve ever had. They are perfectly cooked and perfectly salted, and the dill-infused dipping sauce that comes with them is a perfect compliment! One basket was not enough for four people, and the waitress immediately recognized this and brought us a second one! The service was great, my glass was always full and I never had to wait for our server.

The Tenderloin Special
The Sirloin Special

I ordered one of the specials, which was an 8oz sirloin (rare) served with sage derby mashed potatoes and sautéed asparagus. It was divine! I always order my steak rare because most restaurants I’ve been to overcook the steak and I prefer mine rare or medium rare. The steak came out medium rare, which was fine but I would have preferred rare for how much we paid for it. The steak itself was great, very tender and extremely juicy, and the mashed potatoes were gone in seconds. I’m always a fan of mashed potatoes, and with the buttery gravy made from the steak they were perfect! There were a lot of peppercorns in the gravy that I had to pick through, so a trip through a strainer would have definitely been helpful!
My mom and Nik both ordered the Reuben sandwich. It’s a pretty standard Reuben, and I really enjoyed the melted swiss cheese on it because it made it more like a melt than a sandwich. The sauerkraut here is awesome too, I could probably eat a whole bowl of it if I wanted!

"This Piggy" from Rooney's.
“This Piggy” from Rooney’s.

Ah man, the picture is a little blurry of this one. That sucks because this was my favorite dish of the night. The aptly named “This Piggy” burger starts off with a house-ground patty of bacon, chorizo, and pork, and is topped with pepper-jack cheese, slaw, and MORE BACON. Oh man. I was regretting not having ordered this once I took a bite. This may just be one of the best burgers I’ve ever had, and there wasn’t a pinch of beef in the whole thing! The mix of bacon and chorizo into the burger patty itself was genius, there was so much flavor and texture that you don’t usually get in a burger. I was also amazed at how much I enjoyed having slaw on a burger! The refreshing and creamy crunch was very welcome in this veritable meaty mass of a burger! After we left I told Nik that we needed to go back one more time before we move just to split this burger, because it was definitely enough for two people! But I would probably eat the whole thing myself. I am obsessed with this burger.
I’ve been to Rooney’s before and can definitely say that the Corned Beef and the Shepherd’s Pie are also very delicious! It’s a pretty small menu but there is something for everyone and you will not be disappointed. This is a great spot to watch a game and have a beer, but if you get hungry they have some amazing pub food! The pricing is a little high, we paid $23 for my sirloin and $14 for the burger and sandwiches. It’s pretty worth it though, in my opinion. Especially for that burger. Damn, that burger though.

Tell me what you think!

