Brunch Box PDX

Something about this just tickles me.
Something about this just tickles me.

SW 5th and Stark
Portland, OR
503-477-3286
Website

I’ve heard nothing but good things about the burgers at Brunch Box. Specifically, the breakfast burgers! Sadly, we ordered without thinking and got two non-breakfast burgers, but I’m not too mad because they were still awesome. It also gives me an excuse to go back to their brick and mortar counterpart so I can try again! So, just know that their breakfast burgers are to die for, because I don’t have anything to say about those. I know, I know, total disappointment. I’ll see myself out.

Black and Bleu Burger from Brunch Box
Black and Bleu Burger from Brunch Box

So these pictures were taken a few bites in, in part because we couldn’t help ourselves and forgot about the review because they were so disgustingly incredible, and part because I wanted to get a real nice view of everything in each burger, which is hard to do when you’re looking at it from the outside. Yeah. It was all pre-planned.
The Black and Bleu Burger consists of a patty seasoned with blackening spices, lettuce, tomato, grilled onions, ketchup, mustard, mayo, and of course, heaping amounts of bleu cheese. They have this burger available as a breakfast burger as well, which Nik definitely plans on trying next time. This burger was so full of flavor! The blackening spices really awakened the flavor of the meat, which was definitely needed because bleu cheese can be so overpowering! Luckily, everything on this burger was extremely well balanced and well done. Taking a bite of the Black and Bleu felt like being accosted in the mouth with flavor. A must try for any burger lover. Of course, if you’re into the weird stuff like I am, you might want to try…

The Thai Bacon Burger
The Thai Bacon Burger

This behemoth of a burger starts with a patty and then is just jam-packed with bacon, grilled pineapple, jalapeños, lettuce, tomato, grilled onions and peanut sauce, which you can choose to be either mild, medium, or hot. I went with medium because I like to walk on the wild side while still maintaining a bit of my sanity. It was the perfect amount of spiciness for someone like me! But let’s focus here: Peanut butter, bacon and pineapple? On a burger? What kind of world do we live in?? A wonderful one, is the answer. Never in my wildest dreams would I have imagined these flavors working together, but work they did and the results were something I want to stuff in my face again and again. This is a burger I know I’ll be going back for. This is the burger that got me addicted to Brunch Box. Hey, if you’re going to be addicted to something it might as well be an amazing burger as opposed to, I don’t now, Meth. I’ll take a Brunch Box burger over that any day!
These burgers were extremely well-priced, in my opinion, especially because they were huge and did not skimp on flavor! The Black and Bleu was $5.75 and the Thai Bacon was $7.50. Fries are not offered, which I didn’t even notice until now. A burger this good doesn’t need fries weighing it down, I suppose! Coming from a fry-lover, you really won’t miss them. No sides needed here!

Tell me what you think!

