Kenny & Zuke’s Delicatessen

20150316_134811
Classic Rueben from Kenny & Zuke’s

1038 SW Stark St
Portland, OR 97205
503-222-DELI (3354)
Website

Hey all! This one’s short and sweet, because I was pretty tired after work and just wanted to grab something simple, like a sandwich. We also happened to pass right by Kenny and Zuke’s Delicatessen, and I remembered hearing tell of their amazing pastrami! We snagged parking right out front and were able to sit down immediately for lunch. I loved the atmosphere in this place, it was super casual and very wide open and airy, which made it hard to just point my camera and take a picture of the inside because people would have definitely thought I was snapping photos of them eating. Not what I’m all about.
They have a pretty good selection of beer, with about half the selection being canned. I’m not used to seeing canned beer on menus so this was novel to me! Nik tried the Caldera from Ashland and it was pretty darn good for a canned beer! God I sound like such a snob.

Roast Beef and Garden Vegetable Soup
Roast Beef and Garden Vegetable Soup

Nik ordered the Carving Board Special, which is a half soup and sandwich. He went with the Roast Beef. I was pretty impressed with the tender roast beef, and the rye bread was fantastic! The soup was also good. Great, classic deli favorites!
I had the Classic Reuben with the Pastrami, and it was heavenly. This is definitely the place to come for Pastrami (they sell it by the pound as well!) and it was just perfect with the crispy toasted rye bread and melty swiss cheese! The sauerkraut and Russian dressing were excellent as well. I should also mention that Kenny & Zuke’s make their own pickles, so I definitely went out of my way to eat the whole thing. They were also awesome. This was a great pick for a quick lunch!

Tell me what you think!

