Blue Star Donuts

Truly, the best donuts I've ever tasted.
Truly, the best donuts I’ve ever tasted.

1237 SW Washington
Portland, OR 97205
503-265-8410
Website

Blue Star has such a great, sleek look to all their shops. I’ve wanted to try it for so long and we finally walked by one day and had to go in. The line was pretty long but definitely not as long as the one at Voodoo! It was moving pretty fast as well and we had the extremely hard choice of deciding which succulent donuts we wanted to try from the display. All of the delicious beauties are made from a classic brioche recipe that originated in the south of France. The dough takes 8 hours to make, and they crank them out all day, so they’re always fresh! We ended up choosing three different kinds, the Carrot Cake Donut, the Lemon Curd, and the Hard Apple Cider Fritter.

Lemon Curd Donut
Lemon Curd Donut

Let me just say, the texture of the brioche dough really made all of these donuts so delectable; I felt like they melted in my mouth. The lemon curd in this first donut was thick and incredibly lemony. It was a burst of flavor in this powdered sugar donut. Finger-licking good. I will definitely buy this donut again.

Hard Apple Cider Fritter

Hard Apple Cider Fritter

I definitely had to try this donut. I love apple fritters, and I love hard cider, and the two together sounded heavenly. The donut was very yeasty from the cider, in a good way. It was rich, and savory and yummy, with a sweet pop from the apples and the cider glaze. I loved how crispy the outside was. The crunch is really what makes a good fritter to me. This was my second favorite donut. I hope they have it on the menu again!

Carrot Cake Donut from Blue Star. Do not miss this donut!!
Carrot Cake Donut from Blue Star. Do not miss this donut!!

Nik and I both love carrot cake, and so when we saw this donut we jumped at the opportunity to try it! We were NOT disappointed. This is the best donut I have ever had. The carrot cake dough was spectacular, with great carrot flavor and a nice crispy caramelized exterior. The cream cheese cinnamon frosting was out of this world and complimented the donut perfectly. It was topped with a streusel of walnuts and brown sugar. The perfect donut, in my opinion. If it’s ever on the menu while you’re there, you need to try it. Even if you don’t like carrot cake. I don’t want you to miss out!
The prices were a little on the high side, at $2-3.50 per donut. They are definitely worth it though, and I’ve been back two or three times since doing this review. It’s a very good treat, and they have several shops all across the city! If you’re visiting Portland you can’t miss this spot.

Tell me what you think!

