Jade Bistro & Patisserie

Fresh Salad Rolls from Jade Bistro
Fresh Salad Rolls from Jade Bistro

7912 SE 13th Ave
Portland Oregon
503-477-8985
Website

It’s been so hot recently! This is not what I was expecting when I moved to Portland! I was prepared for rain! I threw out all my shorts! I’m not prepared at all! Anyway, it’s been really nice, and when I get too warm I healthier, lighter foods. We went to a restaurant downtown that I shall not name, were extremely confused by the staff, sat at the bar sandwiched between two dudes even though it was obvious we were on a date, and then ignored for 15 minutes. So we walked out, and I’m glad we did, because the next restaurant on my ever-growing list of places to try was Jade Bistro & Patisserie.
It’s a darling little teahouse in the Sellwood neighborhood. Did I really just say darling? You’ll just have to take my word for it, then. I don’t use adjectives I don’t feel. You order at the counter and then seat yourselves. The space felt wide open, and though there were many people inside it still felt cool and spacious. There is also a patio outside but we chose to stay out of the sun for a while.

Red Curry
Red Curry

We started off with some Salad Rolls, which were filled with chicken, shrimp, and tons of fresh veggies, with peanut sauce for dipping. They are rolled in rice paper, which is gluten-free, and there was even an option to make them vegan by subbing the meat for lemongrass tofu, which sounds pretty tasty to me. You wouldn’t even have noticed that they were GF at all. The shrimp and chicken were perfectly cooked, and the veggies had that crunchy juiciness that only vegetables fresh from the garden have. The light rolls paired with the creamy peanut sauce were out of this world. For such a light dish, I was very satisfied!
Nik ordered the Red Curry with chicken, green beans, basil and pumpkin. The serving was huge! I love pumpkin in curry, and Jade Bistro really got it right. All the flavors were perfect and the curry was just the right consistency.

Crab and Pork Udon Soup
Crab and Pork Udon Soup

I ordered the Udon Soup, and didn’t realize until I read the menu again that the noodles were gluten-free! I really couldn’t tell the difference, they were flavorful and chewy and everything you want an Udon noodle to be! The broth was killer, and the best part was the heaping amounts of real crab and delicious savory pork sausage. I can’t believe it was only $10 for this beauty. Once again, the serving size was huge! The pictures really don’t do the size justice.

Sesame ball with caramel sauce
Sesame ball with caramel sauce

Jade Bistro is also known for its pastries, so I tried one of the sesame balls. It was crunchy and chewy and delicious, and the caramel sauce was wonderful as well. I will definitely be back. Next time I think some tea is needed, as well as the Bahn Mi on house-made baguettes! Yum! This place is a favorite!

Also, so sorry about the long wait for a new post! School has been getting really intense, and so I’ve been spending almost every day in Portland from 8 AM to 10 PM. I love it, but it doesn’t leave me much time to write blog posts! Hopefully I’ll be able to sit down soon and crank a bunch out. Don’t worry, this blog’s not going anywhere! I eat far too much food and take way too many pictures to run out of material for you guys. ❤

Tell me what you think!

