Metro Brew Co.

20161028_172140-01
One of the best patios in SLO!

1040 Broad Street
San Luis Obispo, CA, 93401
805-439-4200
Website

Metro Brew is a modern, sleek, and stylish brewpub located in the prime location formerly housing Creekside Brewing Company. The inside is crisp and clean, though I’ve been told local artists will soon be painting the white walls with murals. I definitely can’t wait to see the finished interior!

As of right now, Metro still lacks a brew master, so for the time being they are pouring other local beers, which sits fine with me, though I will definitely be back when the project comes to fruition!

20161028_173615-01
Tot L’ Recall

Metro Brew has cornered the market on bar food. It seems crazy to say it so soon after they’ve opened, but damn. This place knows what you want to eat with a beer. And it’s CHEAP. (as in price, not quality!)

We tried the Tot L’ Recall, which starts with a base of Metro’s crispy sweet potato tots, smothered in their flavorful “Underground Chili” and cheese, garnished with sour pickled red onions and a perfectly poached egg. The tots sweetness is perfectly tempered by the acidic crunch of the pickled onions, while their crispy exterior serves as the perfect vehicle for the delicious, flavorful chili. The poached egg brings the whole dish together and elevates it to the next level. Oh, and did I mention it’s only $6.50??

20161028_173612-01
Chicken and Waffles

I’ve heard great things about the Chicken and Waffles here from multiple people, so I of course I had to try them. Oh lord. These are seriously my idea of heaven. The Belgian waffle is more like a couple of super crispy donuts dusted with powdered sugar. The chicken is flavorful, not spicy, but with a tangy kick. The entire creation is drizzled with a house made warm maple syrup that has been flambeed with spiced rum. A sprinkle of candied bacon and roasted pecans finish off this decadent creation. I probably gained 10 pounds just looking at this dish, which I am super into. It was so worth it. At only $7, it’s half the price of any other chicken and waffle dish I’ve had in SLO, and it knocks them all our of the park. Do not miss this one!

This place has definitely become a staple for me. I’d definitely bring my friends here after a night of drinking, or before to carbo-load. It has something for everyone, and the price point cannot be beat! Do yourself a favor and snag a spot on the beautiful patio or check out the full bar downstairs!

20161028_172535-01-01
Enjoy!
Tell me what you think!

