Fay’s Fusion

 

20161210_134208-01
Asian Sliders

220 Hinds Ave
Pismo Beach, CA 93449
805-295-6668
Website

I can’t count the number of times I’ve walked past Fay’s Fusion (formerly Tao Asian Fusion) when I’m in Pismo and never thought twice. I thought it was just your run-of-the-mill Chinese restaurant, but today Nik really wanted to try it, so we decided to go for a light lunch. My first impression of this place was so incorrect! In fact, I was blown away! Faye, the owner, says that she didn’t want to be limited when developing the menu. It boasts a little bit of everything, from Chinese to Thai, with a creative twist on each dish that keeps the menu fresh and modern.

We tried two things, the Asian sliders and the Shrimp Dumpling Noodle soup.
The Asian Sliders (above) were delightful. The menu didn’t specify what kind of sliders they were, so I was assuming they were just like burgers. I was wrong, and I was glad I was wrong. Instead, they were very similar to pork bao, which are little steamed buns filled with BBQ pork. The buns were so soft and pillowy, with the most perfect texture. The pork was extremely flavorful and tender, but I wish there was more of it! The sliders were balanced, but the pork was just so good that I wanted more. They were topped with Asian slaw and house-made Mandarin sauce.

20161210_134158-01
Shrimp Dumpling Noodle Soup

The Shrimp Dumpling soup was our second choice. The broth was subtle and fragrant, and provided the perfect slate for the shrimp dumplings to sing. The bok choy was tender, and the carrots added a little bit of crunch that offset the creaminess of the boiled egg. The noodles were flavorful and perfectly cooked. The dumplings were definitely the star, filled with plump, juicy shrimp, tasting so fresh and sweet that it was reminiscent of buttery lobster. The dumpling skin was pleasantly doughy and chewy. Eating these made me regret not ordering the steamed dumpling combo. Dumplings are definitely the star of this restaurant! Make sure you order something with dumplings when you try Fay’s Fusion! They are heavenly.

On my next visit I will definitely be ordering the Assorted Gourmet Dumplings and the Ahi & Avocado Lettuce (seared ahi, avocado, waffle fries, cucumber wasabi ranch, Asian slaw…yum.) Other menu items to peruse include “Sticky Fingers” (chicken tenders in General Tso’s sauce), Sesame Balls, Thai Peanut Shrimp, Calamari, and a Chilled Buckwheat Noodle salad that sounds divine. Next time. Definitely. I’ll have to update this review in the future, because there are so many things to try at Fay’s Fusion! Prices for the items I ordered were $12.25 for the Asian Sliders and $10.95 for the Shrimp Dumpling Soup. I cannot recommend trying this place more!

20161210_140025-01
An unassuming exterior boasts a masterful menu!
Tell me what you think!

